Tuesday, April 21, 2009

The Coral Triangle Initiative

Indonesia to Push for Common Fund To Help Preserve Region’s Coral Reefs

The Coral Triangle Initiative, or CTI, countries — Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Papua New Guinea, East Timor and Solomon Islands — have currently earmarked a total of Rp 2.66 trillion ($250 million) for coral reef preservation but these funds remain under the control of each individual nation.

The leaders of the six CTI countries, along with representatives from the US and Australia, will attend the CTI Summit at the World Ocean Conference in Manado on May 11-15 to focus on "coral reefs, fisheries and food security".

Related resources:
Coral Triangle Initiative
World Ocean Conference (detailed agenda)